When did I complicate my relationship with Jesus?

Simple

During the Christmas season last month (year), I saw someone singing happy birthday to Jesus on the internet. This really got me thinking and asking myself at what point I stopped simply loving Jesus and just genuinely having fun with Him. I remembered a Christmas, about twelve years ago, that I baked a cake for Jesus on Christmas day and wrote “Happy Birthday Jesus” on it.

 
But somehow as I became an adult, grew older and got responsibilities with bills to pay, I thought that I was also an “adult” in God’s eyes. But the truth is that I will always be His child and I should never lose that sense of wonder and amazement and simple relationship with Him. That even as I get new responsibilities every day, God carries me through life and wants to take care of me.

2nd Corinthians 11:3 But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ. (KJV)

It is not just responsibilities and the fast pace of life that can make us forget how to simply receive God’s love and just hang out with Jesus. Christian practices can also become a burden if we are not careful. Thinking that you have to pray a certain way and for a certain length of time, or that you have to do things a specific way each time can wear you down. I want to spend time with Jesus but what about the day my quiet time with Jesus is not for as long as I think it should be? Setting down hard and fast rules on how to do spiritual things ends up complicating our relationship with the Lord.

 
So I decided to go back to the simple yet profound love between my Savior and I. The peace and joy of talking to Jesus, accepting the love of God and being led by the Holy Spirit instead of following man made rules is amazing.

 
Keep it simple. The Lord will guide you and teach you everything you need to know and do. Enjoy your relationship with Jesus. Go for a walk with Him, dance with Him…enjoy.

 
God bless you!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W36wYU-Py8c

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

