Trusting God

Plans

As I thought about 2016 and all the things I want to do, should do, need to do…I wondered if they were God’s plan for me in 2016. One thing I have realized is that God’s plans for me are way better than my wildest dreams. I do not want to be God’s child yet live my life pursuing my own plans. God is my Creator, my Father and my Life. I am living for His glory.

Deuteronomy 30:20 (NIV)

and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

In the book of Isaiah, God said that although the Israelites were His children, they were following their own plans. Instead of writing a list of things to accomplish in 2016, why not give God a blank paper to write what He wants you to accomplish in 2016? After all, He wrote down all the days of my life before a single one came to be.

Isaiah 30:1-2 (NIV)

Woe to the obstinate children,” declares the Lord, “to those who carry out plans that are not mine, forming an alliance, but not by my Spirit, heaping sin upon sin; who go down to Egypt without consulting me; who look for help to Pharaoh’s protection, to Egypt’s shade for refuge.

It boils down to a trust issue. Do I trust God enough to yield my desires to Him? Because as long as I think my own plans are better, I will have a hard time surrendering to God’s will for me and will keep pursuing what I think is best for me but really isn’t. There is no happier place to be than at the centre of God’s will and that is where I want to be. Whatever the Lord tells me is His will for me in 2016, may that be what I pursue with all I have.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

 

Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

