God is speaking to you not your neighbor

Bible and praying hands

I know you love to claim those beautiful promises in the Bible as do most of us. But what about those verses that convict and correct you of your sin? Sometimes we read the Bible and can see how correction applies to everybody else but us. Thou shall not covet…and immediately two people who are guilty of coveting come to your mind but you are not one of them! You forget that you are the one reading the Bible and therefore you are the one the Lord is speaking to at that very moment. Accept correction as well as you accept the promises and the blessings.

 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.

2nd Timothy 3:16 (NIV)

 Every time you read the Bible, the Lord is speaking to you because you are reading His Word. If something seems to be highlighted to you or for a period of time you find that you are reading on a certain topic/issue, ask the Lord what He is drawing your attention to. Last week I found that during my bible study time I would read on pride. The first time I read about it I just thought to myself how pride comes before a fall and is a sin and how proud the characters I was reading about were. The second time I read about pride I realized that the message might actually be for me and maybe I was the character in question.

The good thing about the Lord’s correction is that it is in love and we can trust God to correct us and discipline us. God’s discipline is not punishment. So I asked the Lord to show me areas in my life that I am proud and I repented for being proud. Pride is very subtle. It can tiptoe into your life without you noticing it. I then asked the Lord to keep me from pride in future because maybe God was speaking to me about something that will happen in future which could be a week from now or whenever.

When Jesus told His disciples that they would all fall away and abandon Him, Peter (and the rest of the disciples too) made it clear that he would not deny Jesus no matter what happened. In other words, Peter heard the word of the Lord but it applied to everybody else but him. Instead of praying about it and praying for confidence to stand by Jesus no matter what, he disregarded the word of the Lord and was so sure that it applied to all the other disciples. The rest of the disciples would deny Jesus but Peter would not even though Jesus was clear that all the disciples would deny Him.

31 Then Jesus told them, “This very night you will all fall away on account of me, for it is written:

“‘I will strike the shepherd,
and the sheep of the flock will be scattered.’

32 But after I have risen, I will go ahead of you into Galilee.”

33 Peter replied, “Even if all fall away on account of you, I never will.”

34 “Truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “this very night, before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times.”

35 But Peter declared, “Even if I have to die with you, I will never disown you.” And all the other disciples said the same.

Matthew 26:31 – 35 (NIV)

When you read the Bible and your devotion that day is on gossip. Do not think about all your friends who gossip all the time but you don’t. That you are reading the Bible at that time means the Lord is speaking to you about it. Instead ask the Lord to show you any area in which you need correction and pray for strength not to fall into temptation. God knows everything and maybe the reason you are reading about it now and it seems so inapplicable to you is because the devil has a trial set up to come against you in a few days in the very area you are reading about and thinking that is not your weakness at all.

So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall!

1st Corinthians 10:12(NIV)

God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

