You asked God to use you: are you set apart?

Gold and silver utensils

I have asked God to use me a number of times. He showed me that I have a part to play. I have to choose to be used by Him. I have to cleanse myself. At first I told myself that the Blood of Jesus cleanses me and makes me white as snow. This is true. I cannot do anything to make me righteous in God’s eyes. Jesus makes me righteous. The part I have to play is not in trying to make myself righteous, no.

The Bible says that in a large house there are not only articles of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay; some are for noble purposes and some for ignoble purposes ( 2nd Timothy 2:20). The Master uses the articles of noble purpose. We would all love to be used for noble purposes but in order for this to happen we have a part to play. If a man cleanses himself from ignoble purposes, he will be an instrument for noble purposes, made holy, useful to the Master and prepared to do any good work. (2nd Timothy 2:21). If you want to be useful to God you have to cleanse yourself from ignoble purposes.

Asking God to use you is not enough if soon after you make that prayer you get up and go about your own business and get involved in all kinds of ignoble purposes: gossiping a little there, sleeping with your boyfriend here, stealing a little cash from the petty cash box at work… Whatever ignoble purpose you are pursuing, whether in little ways or big ways, if you want to be useful to the Lord, cleanse yourself from ignoble purposes. Are you useful to the Lord your Master? If you are involved in ignoble purposes then you are your own hindrance to being effectively used by the Lord. God loves us all so much. God is so gracious and we are forgiven but we cannot continue to live in sin and pursue ignoble purposes and still expect God to use us. I once read somewhere that God in His grace still loves us immensely even when we are in sin but He might not use us because it might look like He is endorsing the sin in our life.

You have a choice to make. If you want to be useful to the Lord, you have to cleanse yourself from ignoble purposes. As Christians we are all articles in God’s house but it does not mean that we are all useful articles to the Master. What kind of an article are you? Are you glorifying God with your life? Will the Master use you when He needs to or will He find that you are an article for ignoble use and therefore not for His use? The choice as to whether you are an article of noble or ignoble use is entirely up to you.

Choose wisely. Choose for God’s glory.

God bless you!

Leave a Reply

